The Foogasm

The term foogasm is one that J and I “coined” a number of years ago when we really started advancing our culinary skills. Now I have learned that the term appears in the Urban Dictionary and thus is not our own original word. So much for our fame. Fortunately, the Urban Dictionary has done the hard work of defining the term for us. Below are their “official” definitions:

1. The feeling of complete contentment and release in that bite of your favorite food. Usually brought on at first vocally finally making you feel good and complete. Like you need nothing else in the world, but to finish eating: “That ice cream made me foogasm.”

2. The act of having an orgasm brought on by eating. The chicken cacciatore was so wonderful I had a foogasm!

One doesn’t typically foogasm every time one eats. This would take the fun out of those extra-perfect meals or flavor combinations. However, we find that trying to make foogasm-worthy meals helps us eat delicious foods no matter how poor we are.

Tonight we had foogasmic food. It was a simple linguine dish with shrimp, butter, garlic, fresh basil, olive oil, a splash of a really wonderful chardonnay, lemon juice, and some parmigiana reggiano. It was delightful, simple, inexpensive. I reveled as J moaned through the whole meal. I love it when she enjoys what I cook.

What’s great is that we can have foogasmic meals whether they are simple, light, and healthy–or expensive, decadent, and exotic. I spend a lot of time trying to adapt the more decadent recipes to healthier lighter ones, and in recent years, J has gotten quite good at making lighter versions of our indulgent favorites too (she does amazing things with a veggie burger–and she doesn’t even eat the things.) What can I say? We both love to cook, love our food, and love, love, LOVE a good foogasm.

So what makes you foogasm? And better yet, what can make you foogasm on a budget (we need ideas!)?

5 Comments

Filed under food

5 responses to “The Foogasm

  1. missalyss

    i like this topic!!! I enjoy something as simple as ripe tomatoes with a splash of aged balsamic vinegar and olive oil… or another favorite is a homemade strawberry short cake. Delicccccious. Anyways, just tag surfing and wanted to comment. Fun post!

  2. compulsivewriter

    oooh thats what the feeling of perfect harmony while eating is called! man i had one of those as i bit into chocolate overdose brownies at a restaurant in Mumbai! loved ur blog… keep it rocking 🙂

  3. nutella

    Fresh dewy raspberries, homemade vanilla whipped cream, and melted dark dark chocolate.

    or

    Fresh artichokes, steamed and served with a side of salted melted butter.

    Damn, now I’m hungry.

  4. The not-vegetarian nor kosher roast beef sandwich with fontina cheese at Bouchon Bakery. Since the place is just two blocks from the hospital where I’m supposed to give birth, I will insist upon whomever my first visitor is bringing me one of these $10 slices of heaven.

    Ooo! And caprese salad… and berries with homemade whipped cream and a dark chocolate ice cream or gelato…. and mushroomy creamy sauce on some type of linguini-esque pasta… my honey makes this awesome roasted porkchop over swiss chard number….. And apparently, coffee make me have a little pre-foogasm, because unbeknownst to me, every time I take my first sip in the morning, I moan and say, “Yummy!” I only noticed that I do this after my two-year-old son started begging for coffee after never having tasted it. (I have not let him taste it yet, either. Though he snuck a sip once, then ran around the house yelling “I tasted it! I tasted it!”)

  5. Ignore that this is weigggght watchers.

    http://www.weightwatchers.com/food/rcp/index.aspx?recipeId=100671

    jerk seitan with mango chutney and potato salad. it’s so, so, so good. Fern makes it for me sometimes though it’s not her favorite (too spicy). I could eat it every day. mmmm.

    I also second the artichokes and butter – I love the sweetness that hits the back of your throat.

    Now I’m hungry.

Leave a Reply

