July, Day One

Before I write anything, I need to celebrate. Vee and Jayare pregnant (well, biologically, Vee is), and we here at Reproducing Genius are over the moon for them. Congratulations, ladies!

In other exciting blog news, I’m participating along with this lovely lady in July’s NaBloPoMo Challenge. This means I’m writing every day for the month of July, and the theme is food. With all of the local produce coming in, it’s a great time to write about food. However, with our financial situation (we’re flat broke), our culinary lives are also a little challenging right now. In short, this should make for some interesting topics. Not to worry, though, if you aren’t that interested in food or how we manage to eat when we have thirty dollars to live on for two weeks, you’ll have other topics to read about. I’ll likely just mention food in most posts. It should be fun, right? If nothing else, it will keep me distracted as I make my way through this long-ass break.

Tonight I’m making chocolate chip cookies–nay, chocolate chip cookie bars–and they’re nearly ready. The house smells of vanilla and butter and toasted sugar. I use Ghirardelli chocolate chips. They’re the best. Anyone want some dessert?

6 Comments

Filed under celebrations, food, nablopomo

6 responses to “July, Day One

  1. haha! you sound like the wife and i. i’m really trying not to turn our blog into a food blog, btw. we recently cut our food expenses down to $50 a week, which has been interesting already. we are cooking everything from home and from scratch. i’m enjoying it!

  2. jay

    please come to our house now. and bring your cookie bars!!!!

    and thanks for the congrats xx

  3. Yum, sounds great. I always love reading about food!

  4. I beg to differ. Technically, Vee AND Jay are pregnant. Yay!

  5. Oh. Yes. Dessert. Please.

    I look forward to reading all about your food. And food on a budget. I’m all about it.

  6. starrhillgirl

    Yay! Here we go!
    Ummm, I failed already. Oops. I do want some dessert, though.
    (nice redecorating by the way)

Leave a Reply

