and the party goes on

 

Don’t you love a cheesy soft-focus photo of a wedding cake? No? Nor do I, but it’s a requisite photo we needed in our scrapbook, so you get to share in the glory both here and in my new header.

=====================================================================

We went to my parents’ house this weekend. The people who were once J’s outlaws are now here official inlaws, and they wanted to celebrate.

So Saturday, we celebrated. We started the day with breakfast and mimosas. The parents surprised us with money to get J’s car back. This was something we have been refusing for over a month now, but as J said, they make it fairly difficult to turn it down when it’s wrapped in a bow in the guise of a wedding gift. And so we will soon become a two-car household once again, which is good because our other car just hit 200,000 miles and she’s tired.

Our celebration continued at a local lake where we swam and had a beer and generally enjoyed one another’s company. Later, my sister joined in on the festivities as well. She still has not had her baby, and she’s amazingly spry still. I was impressed. I felt her baby a few times. Anytime I put my hand on her belly, the baby moved for me. This made me like her.

At some point during this lovely relaxing day, we were called out to my stepdad’s garden for a surprise. Let me preface this with some explanation, though. My stepdad is an aging hippy, a master carpenter who built their house (twice–it burnt down in a forest fire the first time), and he is also a yard artist. Their home is in the country on top of a knoll with oak trees and pine trees. On their four acres, they have all different kinds of metal sculptures, recycle art, and cement garden boarders made into shapes like ankhs, pentagrams, the wheel of the year, and so forth. He’s always got some cool new sculpture going. He’s always pouring concrete and drawing things in it. And so, when we were called out to the garden, we were presented with a blank palate of freshly-poured concrete, handed some screwdrivers for the carving, and we commemorated our new wedding date. We were incredibly touched, and we made a lovely carving.

Later, after we had gone back out to touch it up, we came back in to discover wedding decorations and a cake complete with two brides (Cindarellas, to be precise), bubbles, champagne, and my sweet family wanting to continue celebrating with us. Have I mentioned they’re great? They are.

That day was lovely, and the next was too. The parents took us golfing on Sunday morning, which was great fun.

When we returned, we found in our email inbox an email from our former mentor where we used to live. She has lived with a “comanion” for many years, and she informed us that she and her partner had been married after a 30-year commitment. This was the first she has ever come out to us–to anyone we know at all–and we were so thrilled and touched.

And so J and I are still getting choked up on a nearly daily basis because this groundbreaking moment in California is so very touching and real and beautiful. I still can’t quite believe that we are a part of it.

For those of you tired of the wedding topics, there are many more things I’ll blog about soon: our new healthy lifestyle, the fires, my soon-to-be-born niece, seeing the Indigo Girls tonight, and more. Stay tuned! 

 

11 Comments

Filed under celebrations, family, marriage, wedding, weekend

11 responses to “and the party goes on

  1. I love your new header and the cake photo. Your family sounds so incredibly supportive and wonderful. I hope you enjoy the Indigo Girls.

  2. it sounds like a wonderful weekend! i’m excited for you both!

  3. You sound so *well*. I’m glad you had such a splendid weekend! ox

  4. What a beautiFULL celebration. YAY!

  5. Yay California. Yay you guys. Yay your families. It all sounds dreamy!

  6. Your family sounds awesome! It’s so wonderful to have all of that love and support all around you.
    Yah California! I hope NY is next!

  7. jay

    Ah, LOVELY! On all counts!! Any photos of the carving???? xxxx

  8. tbean

    Oh yay! So lovely–you guys needed this so badly and I’m glad the celebration and the good feelings have continued!

  9. r

    sounds simply wonderful and amazing. yeah for you ladies.

  10. supportive families make me warm and fuzzy. thanks for sharing.

  11. starrhillgirl

    This post just kills me. In a good way, I mean.
    Yay for y’all and your old mentor and everybody.

Leave a Reply

