diversions galore (with pictures!)

As you all may have noticed via Friday’s post, I have an amazing wife. This weekend, J set out to distract me from the negatives, and she was quite successful. Here’s our weekend play-by-play (or something of the sort):

Friday, we were both feeling restless. I think I knew I’d get my period that day, and I think J did too. We started the day with the idea that we would get into the car and let us take it where it wanted to go. There are so many parts of our new county that we haven’t yet explored, so wherever it went was sure to be good. We ended up on this road toward a natural hotsprings resort (not open yet ūüė¶ ), and we found a winery that I’ve been looking for since we moved here. We went there years ago on a wine-tasting trip with my mom, and it’s lovely. The place has okay wine, but what it’s really known for are its lavender products and gardens.

     

Don\'t you want to jump on these things?

This was¬†a delightful surprise, and we spent at least an hour perusing the gardens. They aren’t yet blooming, but we were excited to see what they look like before they’re filled with lavender blossoms. We chased dragonflies, trying to get photos of them (no luck), and we fantasized about hopping from one rounded lavender bush to the next. After awhile, we did go taste some wine and were waited on by the queeniest man. (For some reason, older queer men tend not to like us. What is that all about? What did we do to them?) The wine was not great, but the experience was lovely.

Afterward, we were starving, so we went for barbecue at what is touted as our county’s best barbecue. We sat on a patio overlooking a creek, complete with an old-fashioned water wheel; drank beers, and ate what we thought was our county’s best barbecue thus far. Then it was on to our very favorite winery to pick up this month’s wine club shipment and off to home to swim because it was hot! For being CD1, it wasn’t a bad day at all.

Saturday, we were determined to continue with the diversions, so we opted to head out to some of our local farms to get some nice veggies. The first we stopped at was connected to this organization. We bought the most beautiful (and huge!) eggs, mustard greens, green garlic, and¬†wonderfully stubby little carrots–all for something like five dollars. We were thrilled. Then we¬†went here. We’ve been waiting for this barn store to open up since we moved here, and it didn’t disappoint. We got ourselves the most delicious salad greens, basil, chives, sugar snap peas, and more that I can’t remember at the moment. We can’t wait until the veggies and fruits really start coming on because we’ve found a number of u-pick farms where we can’t wait to go pick out our own foods. Since apartment living doesn’t permit much more than container gardening, this should give us the fingers-in-soil fix that we both need.

But this trek was not over once we had our produce. Oh no. We then opted to discover some places we had always been curious about. We stopped at this “inn and spa,” which we knew we would never be able to afford, and pretended to scope out wedding locations for my brother. Instead, we were snooping and taking great photos:¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†¬†

    

Later that day, we needed cheese. And since I was decidedly not pregnant, I could get as adventurous as I wanted. We went to our favorite local gourmet market, got a few lovely and unpasteurized (!) cheeses, along with a bit of wine, and we proceeded to have a lovely picnic on our balcony in the sweltering heat. Afterward, we had yet another swim. The pool is going to save us this year.

Yesterday was more of a coming down day. We went to UU where there was a terrible guest speaker talking about some sort of Presbyterian view of feminism and homosexuality. I tuned out. It felt too much like church did when I was a kid. We did meet some lovely people though, and we’re starting to feel even more at home there than we thought we would.

Reality did set in Sunday evening. My sister is¬†due to give birth sometime in early June, and when we were on our cruise, one of her friends threw her a surprise baby shower. The surprise was on us as well because we didn’t find out until a week before we were to leave on our trip, so we’ve opted to do a very small, very intimate family thing–a baby welcoming if you will. This means my mom and sister and my brother’s soon-to-be fiance will come to our place, and we’ll do something special. Well, J and I started planning this thing last night. It was hard. There I was with my horrific cramps, trying to come up with songs for a baby welcoming CD, and we both just welled up with tears. It’s going to be beautiful; don’t get me wrong. I’m surprising her with a photo shoot; mom’s getting her a mani/pedi; we’re planning some cool pagan welcomimng rituals. It’s all going to be lovely. But this also brings on all of those ugly jealous feelings, those longings to welcome our baby. It’s such a sticky place to be in. The upside of all of this is that we’ll have just inseminated when this event takes place. Perhaps it will bring us some much-needed luck on our second-to-last cycle with Mr. G.

While my diversions this weekend were welcome,¬†one can only escape reality for so long. Truth be told, I’m not pregnant. No matter how much I want to be, no matter how many fake symptoms I felt, I’m not. Today, I’m once again, refocusing (how many times have I said that damn word–that phrase–on this blog?) so that I can spend the next couple of weeks making really great eggs. But I’m giving myself until Wednesday to enjoy the wine. Oh the lovely California¬†wine.

 Happy Monday, everyone!

 

9 Comments

Filed under diversions, family, J, weekend

9 responses to “diversions galore (with pictures!)

  1. What a lovely weekend, indeed! And I’m so glad that you could enjoy it, despite CD1.
    Beautiful pics too!

  2. I’m so jealous of where you live! How beautiful and fun. Take care of you!

  3. tbean

    Glad you could make the best of a BFN weekend. Good for you for getting out and enjoying yourselves and not getting down in the dumps!

  4. hey you gals live near Sonoma?? We live down in San Jose, not super far away. If you gals ever want to get together in the next few months, let me know! We are Napa/wine freaks, and did a weekend wine tasting prior to TTC. My personal favorite winery is Freemark Abbey…lots of that good Rutherford dust.

    I find out in 2 days if I’m preggo, but I’m pretty certain it’ll be BFN. I just feel too many of my typical PMS symptoms. We plan on having nice beer and wine if it’s BFN. Gotta make the most of it, right? ūüôā

  5. jay

    hugs to you. and thanks for the email… will get onto it asap! ;o) xxxx

  6. im sorry it wasn’t this month. but sounds like you maintained pretty well. maybe all those fresh veggies will bring good luck for the month to come.

  7. Wow, what beauty you guys are surrounded by. What an awesome time and the pictures are amazing….. I’m jealous!!! Here’s to hoping your body is preparing THE egg for this cycle!!!! xo

  8. twoladiesinwaiting

    Ugh. I am burning with jealousy. Truly the most beautiful place in the country. Looks like Russian River or Sonoma to me? Thanks for your comment on my blog — I actually responded to you there.

    You have a wonderful blog — and I’m so hoping for you this month.

  9. H

    Distractions are so important sometimes! Though I am hopeful right now, I am all too familiar with the jealousy you mention. My sister-in-law is due in the middle of May- with their FOURTH child. I can’t wait to meet and love this new baby, but it gets confusing to be so happy for them, while my heart breaks at the same time. Good luck to both of us this month!!

Leave a Reply

