All Ashore, Sea Legs and All

We’re home. It’s always so sad to come back from vacation, but coming home from a cruise, where one has been waited on hand and foot whilst basking in the sun, well, that’s especially difficult. We had a fabulous time, met some amazing people, and committed ourselves to the next steps in our lives. That said, we’ve got a bit of the onshore blues. If you have ever been on a ship on the open seas for any period of time, you know that one keeps her sea legs for a few days, so J and I both have occasionally looked at each other over the last couple of days asking, “Did you feel that? Are we moving?” Sea legs are an odd thing indeed, and each time I walk, I still feel like I’m swaying. It’s comforting in a way, but it also makes me long for those days on the open ocean.

I’m sure I’ll write more about the trip later, but for now, i just wanted to post a quick update. For those playing at home, it’s CD8, and I’ve got sore boobs. I was nauseous for the last couple of days, but that could have been sea–and land–sickness. Or maybe the food in Mexico. Or maybe my mind playing tricks on me. Anyway, it’s something of note.

I did break down in a fit of stupidity today and took a pregnancy test. Big. Fat. Negative. Yes, I’m telling myself this means nothing. I know it means nothing. But I’m still holding out a little hope that maybe, just maybe, something will come of this cycle. If not, it’s onto the next one, or two with no vacations to distract us.

3 Comments

Filed under ttc, TWW, vacation

3 responses to “All Ashore, Sea Legs and All

  1. tbean

    Welcome back!

  2. Good to have you back! Glad you had a fab trip….never easy to be back I’m sure (K and I have actually NEVER been on a long vacation together in 6 yrs! We MUST do that). Hope you took lots of pictures!!! Oh, and day 8 is super early as I’m sure you know, so don’t give up hope! This very well could be the cycle for you!!!! I’m all crossed for you guys and very happy that you two had such an awesome time! xo

  3. jay

    Yes indeed CD8 is crazy early, love! Welcome back – glad you enjoyed yourselves! xx (fingers crossed!)

Leave a Reply

