Ho Hum

My life seems all about waiting this week: waiting for my period to end, waiting for the lovely EWCM, waiting for our fabulous upcoming trip, waiting, waiting, waiting. I’m a pretty patient person, but I have moments when I feel like I’m positively going to burst from anticipation. I don’t know if there are any such cases on record, but I’m certain I will be the first if there aren’t.

We had the glorious opportunity to see my brother graduate from his firefighter officer’s academy today. It was an event complete with bagpipes, a color guard, and many men (and a few women) in their best uniforms. Today was a nice day to take the focus off of my life and to see what he’s accomplished. He’s one of my favorite people in the whole world.

I also saw my dad today. I haven’t seen my dad in about two years. We haven’t spoken in that same amount of time. I love my dad, but we have a hard time finding a common ground, and I have an especially hard time with his tendency to be very miopic and self-centered. It was good to see him, though, good to give him a hug and to hear him call me sweetheart. More about father-daughter relationships another day, though.

Another highlight was seeing my sister with her big belly. We are getting more used to the fact that we will soon be aunts. Sometimes this stings, while other times it’s exciting. All that aside, my sister looks beautiful, and her belly is lovely, and I’m looking forward to meeting my neice in just a couple of months. Wow. It really will be that soon.

2 Comments

Filed under family

2 responses to “Ho Hum

  1. Family stuff can be so complicated, and jam packed with emotion and history.
    And as hard as it must be to see you sister pregnant, being an aunt is incredible! I love my neices so much!!! Different than being a mom, but still an amazing role to fill!

  2. I’m so sorry about the job. Wasn’t what you were supposed to do then. These things happen for a reason. Just means there is something better for you!!!! I second JKC on the family stuff. Won’t even go there. Glad you were able to see your dad though. And the cruise will be awesome for you two. I’m so jealous! Hang in there during all this waiting. You’ll get through it, even though sometimes it doesn’t feel like it!

Leave a Reply

