Contrast

Despite my blog’s cheery new look, my mood today simply sucks. It would seem that I’m not going to be called back for a second interview at the job I wanted so badly. The second round of interviews was scheduled for yesterday and tomorrow, and I’ve heard nothing. It would have been nice to get at least a letter, but alas, I’ve got nothing.

And so, the cheeriness that had overcome me after we booked our anniversary getaway has now fallen away, and I’m indulging in some good old fashioned self-pity. Honestly, I don’t know what all of this is going to mean. I’ve got my part-time work, and I could potentially pick up a few classes at the local colleges for the fall, but that takes me right back to the hamster wheel existence I was living until we moved here. I don’t want to do that. If it comes down to that, I’ll change careers. I just wanted to finally get compensated appropriately for teaching–to have some stability in my work. Alas, that was not meant to be.

Then there’s a small part of me that thinks maybe I’ll be pregnant soon, and I won’t have to worry what comes next in my career. It’s an indulgent thought, but it’s something I can finally entertain again. We’ll be putting an end to this break in just over a week, and with it, who knows what will come our way. I sure as hell hope it’s something good, for I’m quite bored with my own negativity, and I’m sure anyone left reading this thing is sick to death of it too.

5 Comments

Filed under job hunting

5 responses to “Contrast

  1. vee

    I’m sorry you haven’t had better news on the job front. How rude of them not to let you know one way or the other!

    I hope you’ll be pregnant soon too – far more fun than career contemplation.

  2. tbean

    I’m job searching right now as well. In academia. TTC and job searching at the same time is a really a double whammy of rejection. So so so hard. 😦 I hear ya.

  3. This is exaclty the place to express negativity, or any other feeling that comes up. We are always here to listen, no matter the mood.
    I’m sorry that you haven’t heard anything from the job.
    And I really, really hope that you pregnant really, really soon, next week would be good. Fingers crossed!

  4. Just over a week left of the break! I’m all hopes for you love.

    Teacher pay is a big issue for me. I wish more people prioritized it. It’s an atrocity that teachers aren’t some of the highest paid professionals in our society. I’m sorry the job didn’t go through and I’m more sorry that people aren’t handing you excellent jobs like they should.

    It’s ok to take a self-pity day. I’m sure you won’t have another one in a long time. Good news is sure to come soon. ox

  5. I’m sorry about the second interview. I hate when they just leave you hanging like that. It’s very disrespectful.

Leave a Reply

