On the horizon

I have managed to secure an interview at a local college for a full-time, tenure-track position. I have applied to this college three times, and this is the first time I’ve gotten an interview. It’s next week. I haven’t had an interview for one of these serious positions in quite a long time, so I’m feeling a little shaky about it.

These academic interview processes are gruelling. Of course, all interview processes are potentially gruelling, but these can be nuts. My application packet (which I submitted a month ago) was no less than thirty pages. The interview itself will be at least an hour in front of a rather large committee. For the interview, I must prepare a fifteen minute demonstration on a lesson plan and syllabus. If out of the twenty or so candidates they are interviewing, I am one of the lucky few finalists who makes it to a second interview, I’ll then interview with the Vice President of the college. If I make it past that one, I’ll interview with the Superintendent of schools. This whole process takes a few weeks, and it’s nothing short of nerve-racking. The good news is that I’ve gone through it before, and while neither process ended in me with a great job, I did gain experience, and perhaps a speck of confidence, maybe even a hint of professional maturity. We shall see.  I just hope I’m not still coughing up a lung every five minutes by next Wednesday. I really want this job.

Speaking of horizons (and, consequently, back to the original focus of this whole blog), we’re on a one-cycle break for sanity’s sake, but we do have more cycles of trying coming soon. After this month, we’ll have probably two more attempts with Mr. G before he leaves the country for over a year, at which point, we will implement a yet unknown Plan B (or C or D–not sure which letter we’ve gotten to by now). We probably should have taken a few months off during the move, but we didn’t have the heart to do it. I fell oddly okay about this because I think J and I both need to get back to that place of remembering what it is we’re doing this for–back to dreaming about being parents, potentially even back to a speck of idealism if that’s even possible. Of course, that may be as likely as regaining one’s virginity, but it doesn’t hurt trying, right?

7 Comments

Filed under job hunting, sick, The Break, ttc

7 responses to “On the horizon

  1. So coming out of a break I didn’t want, I can say now – really – it was good. I rested, I refocused, I pulled some shit together (I hope). It sucked going in, but now, looking back, it was good. You’ll be all idealistic in no time.

  2. Oooh — good luck with the interview gauntlet!

    A break in this crazy process can be a good, good thing. I hope it is restorative for you.

  3. jay

    Yup indeed. Breaks are good sometimes, especially if you choose them.

    And GOOD LUCK with the interviewS!

  4. a break sounds like just what you two need. Love each other and start talking about making a family not just a baby… i bet all the magic will come rushing back.

  5. I LOVED my recent break, I definitely was able to refocus and let go of craziness and find my sanity again. I will definitely take breaks more often if I need to.
    Sounds like with that interview process that taking a TTC break will be a good move. Good luck with the job!!

  6. GOOD LUCK with the interviews. I think breaks are great as long as YOU are in control of them. When you are on a break because the Universe says so- well that just blows monkey chunks.
    xo

  7. Good luck with the interview!!! Oh I hope you get it!!!! A break from TTC isn’t a bad idea. If you feel like it’s right for you, do it 🙂 Lots and lots of good luck your way!

Leave a Reply

