Four Things

I’ve got a lot of bloggy business to attend to today, so here goes!

First, I have a couple of Photo Friday shots to share. This week, the theme was Four. First, I present to you four cat toes:

Pfote

The other contribution showcases some apples that I got at our little farmer’s market this morning. I was frankly quite surprised to find apples so late in the season, but they are local and fresh and juicy and tasty. And there are four of them here:

Apple Shadows

Second, for those of you who either did or didn’t obsess for me the other day, I had another high temp, and today a lower one. I’m a bit crampy with sore boobs–quit typical of the week leading up to the blood. I did have a dream about taking a series of pregnancy tests that were all positive, but the test results would fade after about three seconds, so I couldn’t prove that I was truly pregnant. I woke up annoyed. Honestly, I don’t think I could be any less pregnant, but I’ll keep you updated.

Third, I’ve been tagged by j. k-c. for a fun little meme involving books, which I find utterly appropriate considering my intimate involvement with the things this week. The rules are as follows:

1. Grab the nearest book of 123 pages or more.
2. Open it to page 123.
3. Find the first 5 sentences and write them down.
4. Then invite 5 friends to do the same.

At my desk, I have primarily reference books related to writing. I avoided The Dictionary of Modern American Usage as well as the Thesaurus. Ugh. So, I turned around to find a copy of Eats, Shoots & Leaves by Lynne Truss sitting on a shelf directly to my right. It looks like my readers are going to get a little punctuation lesson because here are the first five sentences of page 123:

So it is true that we must keep an eye on the dash–and also the ellipsis (…), which is turning up increasingly in emails as shorthand for “more to come, actually . . . it might be related to what I’ve just written . . . but the main thing is I haven’t finished . . . let’s just wait and see . . . I could go on like this for hours . . . ” However, so long as there remain sentences on this earth that begin with capital letters and end with full stops, there will be a place for the semicolon. True, its use is never obligatory, because a full top ought always to be an alternative. But that only makes it the more wonderful.

Popotakis had tried a cinema, a dance hall, bacarat, and miniature golf; now he had four ping-pong tables.

Don’t you feel more informed? I tag Chronicles of Conception, Baby Steps, Notes from Two Moms, Milk in the Batter, and OhChicken. You’re all it!

And finally, for those who have been interested in seeing the bookshelves that T built (err, assembled–and sorry about referring to myself in the third person), here they are in all their glory with a bonus shot of our little cat, Zoe. For some reason they don’t look nearly as massive in this photo, and I can’t, for the life of me figure out how these books filled a whole ten boxes. There seem to be so few once they’re on the shelves! I will admit that we still have another large bookcase in the office as well as small bookshelves built into the desk and another small bookcase to the right of the desk, but those books filled another four or five boxes. We are a slave to our books. One day I dream of a full room with walls lined with floor to ceiling built-in bookcases and two very comfy reading chairs. Ahhh…that would be lovely.

bookcases.jpg

 

Have a good weekend everyone! And if you made it this far, you get a gold star!

6 Comments

Filed under BBT, home, moving, new home, Photo Friday

6 responses to “Four Things

  1. awesome pics, and i LOVE LOVE LOVE the bookshelves. i am still holding hope for you guys!!! fingers crossed that the blood just doesn’t come…..

  2. Thanks for playing…and now I notice how often I “…” 🙂

    I love your pics too and my fingers are still crossed for you guys!

  3. LOVE the bookshelves! Thanks for sharing the pics:)

  4. vee

    Lynne Truss is a hero to me in my more anal moments.

    And that is one fine bookcase.

  5. Thank you for your kind words!

  6. My dream bedroom is to have a room where the walls are filled bookshelves alone (with the occasional photo frame/picture or trinket from travels.) I’m such a book nerd, I sometimes scare myself.

Leave a Reply

