Break No More

It’s CD1. For the past couple of months, that hasn’t meant anything except wicked cramps, copious amounts of chocolate consumption, and a trip to the store for tampons, but today it means we’re no longer on a break from trying to conceive. We actually get to start up again this cycle–in just a couple of weeks, in fact. I can’t believe it.

I’ve gotten into some bad habits since we’ve been on a break from this adventure, and I need to break them. We’re hosting our ladies’ poker group tonight, so I think it’s going to be my final blowout (hmmm…don’t say anything, but I think I’ve had a lot of “final blowouts” since this journey began), and then tomorrow, back to healthy T. I can do that. Yes. I can do it. If it means hope for a baby, I can definitely do it. Geesh, I’m sounding like some kind of alcoholic or something. It’s not just drinking, though (and really, is a liter of scotch a day truly excessive drinking?). My whole healthy lifestyle has gone to shit lately, so it’s that which I plan to reembrace this week.

In all honesty, I’m a nut when it comes to the TTC health. I avoid everything from high fructose corn syrup to cleaning with bleach. I am all about whole foods, vitamins, exercise, water, tea, and no toxins, and I haven’t been focused on that for quite some time. In my everyday life, I tend to avoid chemicals and non-nutritious foods, so it’s not like I’ve been binging on Cheetos and Pepsi (although there was that holiday fudge), but I have certain standards I’m trying to maintain whilst TTC, and I’ve all but abandoned many of those standards of late. So what is it that I’m whining about? Oh, hell, I don’t know. I just know that it’s going to be nice to clean the ole system out again. One thing that tends to keep me on track with all of that is taking my temperature, so I’ll start doing that again, even if it drives me nuts.

So hold on to your hats everyone–things are actually going to get interesting around here again soon! Really. I promise.

3 Comments

Filed under drinking, Period, The Break, ttc

3 responses to “Break No More

  1. Hurrah for CD1. Hurrah for you guys being back in the running. Hurrah. (That’s 3 cheers from us.) xxx

  2. jay

    (that was vee up there!) I just wanted to add that, although it isn’t my body doing the TTCing, I do try and abstain along with vee so I know what you mean in a sense. And now that we’ve both given up alcohol altogether I am quite surprised by how easy it is. Seriously. And this is someone who likes her tipple! Good luck to youse, and hurrah for being back!! xx

  3. notesfrom2moms

    I’m glad you are back on the wagon!

Leave a Reply

