Ahhhhhh…Break

This morning I awoke to something very unusual: sunlight. While this may not seem all that remarkable, it is–believe me, it is. Every day I wake up to the dark, and I go to work in the dark. A couple of nights a week, I stay at school until well after dark, and I come home in the dark. There’s really nothing more romantic than watching the sunset with a bunch of eighteen-year-olds who are coughing their strep throat and mono all over me. But today, I awoke, and the sun was shining. There wasn’t even any of our famous morning fog–just sun and some poofy autumn clouds. Yes, I’m on Thanksgiving break.

So far, our break has been fairly uneventful. I had to have my hair color fixed–the guy who shaved my head painted in some blonde tips, but the problem was that he sucked at coloring hair, so I ended up with blonde splotches, resembling some sort of cheetah. So this had to be repaired, and now, I’ve got all kinds of blonde streakies, and it’s great fun.

We had the greatest day that day. It was rainy, and J and I sat on the sofa, while she read and I crocheted with candles burning and classical guitar playing. Really lovely. We’re trying to have lots of quiet, relaxing together moments. Today we will go buy more yarn and another book and continue this trend because Wednesday we’re going to see our family, and Thursday, oh fuck, Thursday.

Thursday my parents are hosting eleven people, including my siblings for Thanksgiving, and this is the first time we will have to face the reality of the recent news. All I can say is that it’s a good thing I can drink.

In the meantime, I’m cherishing this time with J because we need the time off together to keep each other sane. When we return from this break, we will have a week and a half to prepare our students to pass freshman composition and their assessment portfolio. And then we turn in grades, and then we’re finished at this school for good. It’s all coming so soon!

2 Comments

Filed under craftiness, family, holidays, J, quiet, us

2 responses to “Ahhhhhh…Break

  1. jay

    Good luck with the meal -agh, I hear you- and enjoy the peace while it lasts… sounds lovely. xx

  2. Oh, Thursday. I’ll be thinking of y’all, I will.

Leave a Reply

