Happy Birthday To Me

Have I ever mentioned I’m perpetually late? I’ve gotten better about it over the years, and now I  often even leave insanely early for things, but it seems that sometimes I’m still late, and this time, I’m late to wish myself a happy birthday on my own blog.

Yes, on Saturday I turned 32, which is funny because for the past six months I thought I was 32. Turns out I was 31 all along, and I didn’t really remember this until the day before my birthday, so J encouraged me to tell everyone I know that I was 31. I did this a little, but in my mind, I was already 32. Honestly, I don’t see much of a difference, except that I hope 32 is the year I get to have a baby, but that’s a given, right?

 We did have a fabulous day on my b-day. We got up, and J had the makings for mimosasimg_1522.jpg as well as croissants, flowers, some very cool new champagne flutes, and other goodies in a lovely basket on our coffee table. After an hour or so of indulgences, J  and I took off to farmer’s market where I got some big red dahlias. One is pictured here, although it’s dying already! 😦

 Later, we went to our favorite coffee shop where J beat me at Scrabble; we had a backyard picnic and enjoyed the sun; we had a nap and enjoyed some good us time; and then we went out for sushi, drinks, and jazz, wrapping the evening up with some good friends. It was a perfect day, and by the time we got home, I was utterly exhausted, and we slept until 9 the next day!

This weekend we also started a bit of a cleanse, and it’s felt good to be back on track. Yesterday,  cashed in on a birthday coupon from our neighbor who was a practicing massage therapist for years. She gave me a wonderful 90-minute massage, and I walked around like a big pile of goo for the rest of the day.

Finally, I finished a blanket that I’ve been crocheting since shortly after J and  got together. This is a major milestone people. It’s something I never thought I’d finish, and I finally did. It will fit a child’s size bed perfectly, is big enough that an adult can snuggle up under, but it will also be great for wrapping up a baby when it’s cold out. Behold, a project nearly nine years in the making:

img_1517.jpgI honestly can’t believe it’s finished, but I have been working on it for years–although not nine years straight mind you. I’ve got horrid carpal tunnel syndrome and other issues with my hands that have kept me from this thing, but after nearly about a hundred dollars worth of really great cotton yarn, hours of being irritated by how stupid I was to begin the thing, and a night of utter amazement that I was finally going to finish it, it’s done.

So there you have it, my Labor Day Weekend. How was yours?

T

2 Comments

Filed under birthdays

2 responses to “Happy Birthday To Me

  1. amyjay

    Happy Birthday!

    Your day sounded fantastic! I read it to DP she said, “Holy Spoiled”!

    I’m right behind you; I’ll be 32 in Nov. DP has told me several times this year, “your not 32 yet”! I’ve also lost count of how many insems we have done (I NEVER thought that would happen).

    Oh, you’ve inspired me to complete a project started long ago. Your blanket looks great.

    Have a nice day.

  2. Hey! Happy Belated Birthday girl 🙂 LOVES the blanket.

Leave a Reply

