A quickie for procrastinators

In the last post I made, I discussed some websites T and I go to in order to wile away those baby pangs.  One of them is called “Baby’s Named a Bad, Bad Thing” and is essentially someone who grabs these posts off of other sites and makes sarcastic comments about the names.

Here’s an example:

“I’m having a girl…
For the first name I like Mercedes, Michaela, Marissa, Madison, and Makenzie For a middle name I like Alezae'(Alize) like the liquor.”

Her response:  Nothing like being named after a cheap mass market spritzer to define your personality.

Anyway, here’s another fun website that shows you the popularity and history of any name.  It’s fun to see when a name gains and loses popularity.  My name, for example, peaked in the seventies when I was born but has gone down dramatically since then.  For what it’s worth, the name in question is Jodi.  You don’t meet a lot of kids today named Jodi, but there’s a lot of us in our thirties!  Have fun with it, readers, and report back to me if you find any other good sites about naming babies, serious or otherwise.  I won’t be one of those weirdos who pays a marketing firm to name my child, though!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A quickie for procrastinators

  1. OMG! “That Baby’s Named A Bad Thing” site is equally mean-spirited and roll-on-the-floor hilarious. (Oh, it is a little more funny than mean, actually.) The whole time I was reading, I was hoping not to see my own unusual name.

  2. amyjay

    I frequent babynamegenie.com. They have a baby naming poll section; It’s an opportunity to vote for your favorite names.

  3. reproducinggenius

    cool! We’ll have to check it out. Thanks Amyjay!

Leave a Reply

