Hiatus

This hiatus from conceiving is a bummer.  I had such a different vision for what this summer would be, and I can’t wait for our donor to return to the country in September.  I’ve definitely got the baby blues.

 Speaking of hiatus, I’m taking over the blogging responsibilties until T recovers; she has carpel tunnel syndrome and is experiencing a painful flair up.  She can use voice recognition software for work, but she has to avoid the strain to her wrists at all cost.  I’ve been doing the kitchen prep work, driving, etc. while she rests her poor wrist. 

We have houseguests at the moment and will be going camping over the weekend, so we’re staying busy with those activities.  We got hooked on a stupid reality show about dancers and wile away many hours looking at hilarious websites that make fun of bad baby names.  Did you know that one celebrity actually named her child “Fifi Trixibell.”  Unbelievable.  We have already selected a name for our baby to be, but we’re keeping mum until the birth.  We are telling T’s family the baby will be named “Shaniqua Latoya” and our son will be named “Young Oscar.”  We like messing with them, obviously.

Well, I have to stop procrastinating and get back to work. 

J

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Hiatus

  1. You know that Fifi’s sisters are called:-

    Peaches Honeyblossom
    Little Pixie
    and…
    Heavenly Hiraani Tigerlily

    Outrageous but kind of beautiful in a weird way!

  2. links please! others of us need help procrastinating!

  3. Freaking hilarious. I love it. I laughed so hard at the baby girl name!! Karli and I always say Laquesha Lemonjello (PRONOUNCED: LAMONJALLO, of course) 😉

    I understand waiting is hard…we have decided to start trying to get pregnant in JANUARY….and I sort of can’t wait for the months to fly by!!! It’s hard….but good job staying busy, it helps! Hope the C.T.S gets better, that hurts like heck.

  4. timaree

    As requested, here is the link to the article.
    http://women.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/women/families/article2130988.ece

    I just wonder what the nicknames of some of these kids are. When I was growing up, we had these hippy neighbors with something like ten kids. One was named Easy Flowing Essence, another Youme Sohigh (and no, I’m not kidding).

    As for our baby’s pseudonyms, we’re sure that my rather racist step-grandparents will blanche a bit at Shaniqua. Poor folks. They have finally gotten used to us being lesbians, then we spring the family thing on them, and now this. We’re fairly certain my immediate family will politely smile, and then ask “Are they for real?” behind our backs. We tend to be a family of pranksters, though, so I’m sure they’ll see right through it. My mom did give my sibs and I some rather unorthodox names though, so maybe she’ll think I took it to the next level. We’ll see…

    T

Leave a Reply

