Impending Egg

I got a positive result on an Ovulation Predictor Kit today. This means I’m anywhere from 24-36 hours from ovulation. Mr. Goodman’s donation is set to arrive before noon on Wednesday, so this is going to be tight, but it should be pretty good timing. I can’t believe we’re actually here.

 J and I went for a nice long hike in the forest today. It was so beautiful, and we spent much of the day imagining what life might be like once we have kids. We really are ready for this.

 We spent a good amount of time today discussing what it took to get us here. We had a friend who offered to be our donor without us ever asking. When we discussed it with him, we asked that he just let us know by the end of last year what he decided. We heard nothing. After that, we started exploring sperm banks, asking friends if they knew anyone who might be willing to help us out, even asking strangers if they would help. Once we came up with the idea to search for someone online, though, things changed.

Yes, we did get our share of freaks. I can’t count how many pictures of men who were trying to look sexy ended up in my inbox. One of them was a scrawny 19-year-old boy without his shirt on. It could have been worse. There were men posting on this sperm donor message board who were posting photos of their large endowments–as though that has anything to do with virility! There are others who are seeking to spread their seed for biblical reasons, who want to produce as many offspring as possible, and, while they’re at it, are looking for wives. The worst who wrote to us started off sounding good, but we already had a pretty strong agreement with Mr. Goodman, so I let him know that we had already found a donor. The guy was a high school administrator, within driving distance, etc., but after just two emails, he was insisting that we drop Mr. Goodman and use him. He was certain that he would get me pregnant on the first insemination, and he told me that if I just looked at photos of his children, my mind would be changed. He told me that I still had time to tell my donor no, and that he would be waiting. Needless to say, he had to go.

 I knew we were jumping into shark-infested waters when I posted our ad on one of these message boards, but I honestly didn’t think we’d find anyone legitimate, and now here we are about four months later, and Mr.Goodman has even begun to offer to send multiple shipments to increase our chances. We won’t know everything is in order until the sperm shows up, but for now, J and I are really enjoying the thought that we might be finally experiencing some good karma. I just hope it keeps up.

5 Comments

Filed under ttc, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Impending Egg

  1. I wouldn’t worry about “finding your blogging voice” you seem to have it down pat! And honey, you do have readers, as new as your site may be. Good luck on the first insemination, and know that the more you blog, the more spport you will gain. My partner and I just became pregnant via IUI- it was our 8th try! I hope that your journey is a little shorter than ours!!

  2. Here via way of Fertility Friend. Good on you for setting up the blog – yes we DO want to hear the minutiae of your baby obsessions – that’s what we all blog about!!

    I’m intrigued by the Fed-Ex thing!! Do they deliver super quick, or does it come to you frozen in a tank? We have internet based services here in the UK that deliver fresh sperm to the door within the hour, though we’ve not ventured down that path.

    Good luck!

  3. reproducinggenius

    Wow! Comments!

    Lynn–First of all, congratulations! I hope our journey is a short one, but I’m doubtful that it will be, but I certainly appreciate the well-wishes though! And thank you for letting me know that we do have readers. This has been something we’ve tried to start for a couple of months, but we finally have things to blog about!

    Vee–Thanks for stopping by too! Our donor is actually shipping via overnight Fed Ex using his homemade version of Biotranz–a shipper for fresh sperm. We hear this method has pretty decent results because it cools the sperm just enough to slow them down and save some energy. We’ll blog about it once it arrives to explain what he did (because I’m not entirely sure yet either!). How incredible to have sperm delivered within the hour! Is this through cryobanks or are these private donors?

    Thank you both so much for stopping by. I just discovered both of your blogs this week and love reading them!

    Meanwhile, Today: insemination #1. The sperm is due to arrive in just a few hours! Aaack!

  4. Cool re the sperm chiller!! Is he a bit of a science guy! I love that he made his own!

    And yeah, they deliver it quick, but the UK is so tiny compared to the US – we all practically live on top of each other, so it doesn’t generally have to travel; far. Off to read your more recent posts now – want to find out how it went!

  5. reproducinggenius

    Well, he’s a PhD candidate in the humanities, but he’s a good researcher and a super smart guy, not to mention a DIYer, so all of those things combined make a great sperm shipper!

    I’m wishing we lived in closer proximity to our donor these days. Timing shipments over weekends is becoming difficult because no one likes to deliver on Sundays. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

